Commercial/CFI/CFII Checkride in the ES?

Moderators: George Wehrung, Admin

Dan OBrien

Anyone done a commercial checkride in an ES? I'm currently prepping for the Commercial written and am considering perfecting the maneuvers in my ES. There's a DAR in CA willing to do checkrides in it. Question is how much harder is it to be within standards in the ES than in, say, a C172, which is about the most docile/simple/ light plane ever invented. I imagine the higher speeds could make it harder to meet the standards. On the other hand, I find my ES to be as easy to fly as a C182 but faster and more fun! :). I really want to do it in my ES because it will perfect my flying of that airplane.
Happy & Safe Flying,
Dan
Ryan Riley

Dan, this is a great question. As long as the DPE is comfortable doing the checkride in your airplane, you're good to go. I'm a CFI/CFII/LOBO instructor and the ES is faster than a Cessna 182, but similar in cockpit task loading as both have fixed gear, big engines that require monitoring, good useful load, etc. However, that speed difference we enjoy in the ES comes at cost in the slow flight/stall regime.

For your power on/power off stalls, I'd make sure you keep the power right at 65% as that is the min limit per CA.VII.C.S4. Do not do full power on stalls. Also, realize the standards say that the pilot should recover at the first indication of a stall or after full stall. For your ES, first indication is either going to be the buffet or if you have an AOA system, when the system tells you to push. There is no reason to take the ES into a full power on stall for your commercial checkride and I don't recommend it. Power offs are no different than any other plane, IMHO.